Delaware Business Blog

SBA Delaware District Office Announces 2011 Small Business Week Winners

The U.S. Small Business Administration’s (SBA) Delaware District Office will honor Delaware’s outstanding small business owners and champions at the Delaware Small Business Week awards dinner “Stand Up For Small Business,” on Tuesday, June 7, 2011, at the Executive Banquet and Conference Center in Newark.

Christy Crkvenac, of Fulcrum Pharmacy and Radius Rx Direct in Wilmington will be honored as SBA’s Delaware Small Business Person of the Year. Fulcrum Pharmacy and Radius Rx Direct provide specialized and customized services to meet the unique needs of agencies that serve special needs persons in Delaware, including those with mental or behavioral health issues, physical disabilities, substance abuse challenges and those in correctional facilities or homeless shelters. In 2003 with the help of SCORE counseling and a $200,000 SBA 7(a) loan Fulcrum Pharmacy opened its doors to the Long Term Care (LTC) pharmacy market. They were nominated by George Mills, vice president of Wilmington Trust.

“We are honored to be recognized as one of the top 54 small businesses in the country,” said Crkvenac, CEO and president of both companies. “Our success would not have been possible without my husband Todd, the support we receive from our family, friends and the wonderful work team at Fulcrum and Radius.”

“First and foremost we want to thank the SBA and Wilmington Trust for the financial support they have provided the business over the years,” Crkvenac continued.

After having spent many years as a regional director for a large national LTC pharmacy company, Crkvenac assembled a staff of pharmacists and professionals that had more than six decades of combined experience providing specialty pharmacy and consulting services designed to meet the unique needs of the clients they serve.

“Commitment, dedication and perseverance were key values that Christy Crkvenac used to bring life to her business plan,” said Jayne Armstrong, district director of the SBA’s Delaware District Office. “They continue to serve her well as this extraordinary entrepreneur achieves the ultimate American dream of small business success.”

Each year the President of the United States declares a week in May as National Small Business Week. This year’s celebration will take place May 18-20 in Washington, D.C. The Crkvenac’s and 53 other winners from the other 49 states, Puerto Rico, Guam, Washington, D.C. and the U.S. Virgin Islands will compete for the title of National Small Business Person of the Year during the Washington event.

SBA’s 68 district offices across the nation also host local events similar to Delaware’s June 7th celebration to recognize their state and local award winners. All of the other honorees compete with winners from the Mid-Atlantic region for SBA’s regional awards and those winners then compete for the national awards in their respective categories.

In addition to her recognition at the state level, one of Delaware’s honorees is being recognized by the SBA at the regional level. Dr. Ja-Neair Macklin, founder of Direct Sales and Home Based Business Network was selected from winners from Pennsylvania, Maryland, Delaware, West Virginia, Virginia, and the District of Columbia. She too will compete for the national award in her category.

For more information on award winners or SBA’s Small Business Week Dinner, contact James Provo at (302) 573-6294 x 227 or The SBA‘s mission is to maintain and strengthen the nation’s economy by aiding, counseling, assisting and protecting the interests of small businesses and by providing loan guarantees through private sector lenders to help qualified small businesses secure financing on reasonable terms.
# # #

2011 Small Business Week Award Honorees SBA Delaware District Office

Small Business Person of the Year
Christy Lynn Crkvenac
Fulcrum Pharmacy Management Inc. and Radius Rx Direct Inc.
Wilmington, Del.

Family Owned Business of the Year
John Sullivan
Testing Machines Inc.
40 McCullough Drive
New Castle, Del.

Entrepreneurial Success Award
Beverly Stewart
Back to Basics Learning Dynamics
6 Stone Hill Road
Wilmington, Del.

Veteran Small Business Champion of the Year
David Skocik
PR Delaware LLC
141 Springfield Way
Dover, Del.

Women Business Champion of the Year
L. Jay Burks
Office of Minority and Women Business Enterprise
100 Enterprise Place, Suite 4
Dover, Del.

Financial Services Champion of the Year
Ed Perez
Downtown Dover Partnership
101 West Loockerman, Suite 1A
Dover, Del.

*Home Based Business Champion of the Year
Dr. Ja-Neair Macklin
Direct Sales and Home Based Business Network
1407 W. 8th St
Wilmington, Del.

Minority Small Business Champion of the Year
Leonard Young III
Delaware LLC
560 Peoples’ Plaza Suite 288
Newark, Del.

Young Entrepreneur of the Year
Kyle Morgan
Mercantile Processing Inc.
20 West Essex Street
Fenwick Island, Del.

*Designates the winner of the Mid-Atlantic Regional Award among nominations from PA, MD, DE, WV, VA and DC.

# # #

One thought on “SBA Delaware District Office Announces 2011 Small Business Week Winners

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *